Congratulations to OPA - Knight Champs

Oak Park Apartments built an early lead behind starter Michael Obermaier and Aidan Molina (3 H, 4 RBI), but had to battle a comeback by Knight Division leaders Bump City to win 9-8 in an 8-inning championship game. After two lead changes, BC tied OPA in the bottom of the 7th frame and loaded the bases. OPA catcher Casey McCormick made a diving snag of a foul for the third out. After OPA scored in the 8th, OPA closer Peter Bade sealed the win.

Congrats OPT: Pony Cunningham Champs

Oak Park Township beat Anderson Shumaker in the "if necessary" game to win the 2014 Oak Park River Forest Pony Baseball Championship. OPT forced the extra game on July 5 by winning the first championship round on July 3 against Anderson Shumaker. This is OPTs 2nd consecutive championship win, but just a small drop in the bucket for career championships at Lindberg Park for Manager Mike Kennedy. Congratulations to OPT on a fine season.

A friend is gone but not forgotten

Joe Beaumont, a long time (20 years - 1988-2008) manager/coach for OPRF Pony Baseball, passed away recently at the age of 53. He coached in both the Knight and Cunningham divisions (10 years for Ronbo's) and for 3 tournament teams. He always stressed teamwork and having "fun" with his players and is remembered for the smiles and good humor he consistently displayed. He also coached soccer in the area for many years. Joe loved sports and left us too soon. Joe will be missed and is remembered fondly by the coaches and league volunteers who knew him.

1960 Pony World Series Team

In 1960, the OPRF Pony national team went all the way. They won it all and they were the only team in the history of the local organization to do so. In 2010, on their 50th anniversary, the Pony national organization paid them tribute. Now it's time for the local community to follow suit.

On September 29 - 3:00 pm, there will be a dedication ceremony to hang a commemorative plaque at the concession stand at Lindberg Park. In attendance will be players of the World Series team, current league players, coaches and league administrators. All are welcome.